Go Veg or Go Home

When I was 13, I decided to stop eating beef and pork.  I don’t remember exactly what prompted my decision, but I’m sure it was a combination of loving animals and wanting to be healthier.  My family was not very supportive.  My mom bet I wouldn’t even last a week.

Nine years later, I’m making the full commitment to vegetarianism.  This is something I’ve wanted to do for awhile.  I’ve done lots of research, have done a few “test runs”, and have been slowly phasing meat out of my diet for the past two years.

Two weeks ago I decided to stop eating meat for a week.  The week passed and I didn’t miss it at all.  I even tried eating one of my frozen meals with chicken, but I actually got a little sick at the thought of it.  I know I’m doing this for the right reasons and I’m so excited to begin this journey!

As a beginner, I’d really appreciate any tips you can offer.  Restaurant suggestions in the NYC area are especially helpful, but I’d also love any healthy recipes!

2 thoughts on “Go Veg or Go Home

  1. You might try Dirt Candy in the East Village. They’re located on 430 East 9th Street (Avenue A). Great vegetarian restaurant.

    As for recipes, check out my blog. I’m sure you’ll find something you like.

Leave a Reply

