Play pretend

I love Halloween.  And yes, I realize it’s November 4th and I’m a little late.  My town is actually having make-up trick-or-treating today since Snowtober ruined Monday’s festivities.

Dressing up is definitely my favorite part of this holiday.  Ever since I was little, I have loved to play pretend.  My nose was buried in a book for the majority of my childhood and I used to act out the stories.  I once spent an entire week living in my closet and refusing to eat anything but table scraps when I was reading A Little Princess.

There’s something alluring about getting to be someone else.  Even if it’s just for a brief moment in time, you can feel what it’s like to walk in someone else’s shoes.  I think that’s why I fell in love with acting.  It never felt like I was performing, never felt like I was on stage.  I was thinking someone else’s thoughts, saying someone else’s words, feeling someone else’s emotions.

It’s been awhile since I acted, but Halloween is still that chance to revert to my childhood game of pretend.

 

One thought on “Play pretend

  1. I like your blog. It’s kinda how I wish I kept mine: purely anecdotal with your honest perspective. But, now I’m playing play pretend and offering perspectives that aren’t always entirely my own to my anecdotes. btw. I love chuck e cheese too.. except I go to the one where I wont get in trouble for being an adult aka. dave and busters. (i know I’m commenting on the wrong post) Anyways. Keep it up fellow blogger!

Leave a Reply

