The One with All the Thanksgivings

I know I promised this post this morning (well really it should have been yesterday), but life got in the way. We spent all day decorating and now I’m trying to knock this out before our company gets here, so bear with me!

I absolutely adore Christmas, but ever since my parents got divorced, I have not been a big fan of Thanksgiving. Half of my past nine Thanksgivings have been spent shuffling between the houses of various friends and while I always had a good time and appreciated their hospitality, it wasn’t the same. Growing up our Thanksgiving was pretty simple: just my mom, dad, brother, and I with my maternal Grandma and Grandpa. Everything got broken up when my dad left and my grandparents got too old to make the drive from Erie. My brother would spend the day with my dad sometimes and often my mom and I wouldn’t even celebrate.

Despite all of this, I have one favorite Thanksgiving from this time. My brother was with my dad, so my mom and I decided to have an anti-Thanksgiving. Instead of cooking a ton of food for two people, we decided to drive around and get one dish from every restaurant we saw that was open. We collected a variety of Chinese food, diner appetizers, and chain restaurant desserts. We brought everything home, set up camp on the floor of our family room, and spent the day pigging out and watching Gilmore Girls. It might have been weird, but it was one of most fun days I’ve ever had.

I hope everyone had a great day with their families and friends yesterday and I promise I’ll get back to my more comedic-oriented posts this weekend.

Leave a Reply

