Sunday Social

After a very long weekend filled with very tough assignments, I’m finally doing my first Sunday Social link-up! This week is about travel, which is perfect since it’s pretty much my favorite thing. Also, I’m bummed I don’t have photos to go with some of my answers, but I deactivated my Facebook so I’d get work done, and all my pictures are on there.

Sunday Social

Best trip you’ve ever been on?

Summer after I graduated high school, I went on a group trip to Europe with my best friend. For 3 weeks we got to explore Italy, Turkey, and Greece and it was absolutely amazing. I’m obsessed with history and loved seeing the places people built thousands of years ago. And the food. Oh, the food. I ate so much gelato and spanokopita, but didn’t gain a pound since we walked so much. We did a cruise of the Greek islands and I fell in love with Mykonos. I bathed on the rock beaches of Capri, shopped in bella Roma, danced with Greek men in Athens, and dived into the crystal clear Mediterranean waters. I was even proposed to in a Turkish market, but still haven’t received the promised goats, so I’m single for now.

Best idea for a girls weekend trip?

Two words: Napa Valley. Wineries upon wineries upon wineries. I think a Caribbean island like the Dominican Republic would also be great: relaxing on the beach with a cocktail by day, dancing all night.

Best idea for a couples trip?

Somewhere kind of rustic with lots to explore: I think Boulder or Denver would be great. Anywhere I could have silly adventures and come back to snuggle by a fireplace at night with my Turkish lover.

Best vacation on the cheap?

This year I discovered the beauty and affordability of off-season getaways. A friend and I ventured to Newport, Rhode Island in February. Not a lot of sailboats and rich people summering in February. Luckily, our trip coincided with a big Winter Festival full of music, food, tours, and wine. Everything was very cheap: we attended a hot wing competition for lunch and ate unlimited wings for $5. We explored the amazing mansions (The Breakers is a must-see), drove along the coast, tried amazing restaurants, toured and tasted at wineries and breweries, took trips to historical sites, listened to live music, and got lots of freebies from our resort. Our accommodations were amazing and actually practically free since my friend’s family gave us their timeshare points. It was great to experience such an amazing place outside of the high costs and huge crowds of summer.

Place you most want to visit?

I want to go everywhere so this question really isn’t fair. At the moment, I’m dying to go to Buenos Aires. Also high on my list are London, India, Colorado, Spain, Thailand, California, and the French Riviera.

Vacation necessities?

Honestly, nothing. I mean, no, I don’t travel empty handed. I do make a packing list and try to adhere to it somewhat. But I’d be fine just hopping on a plane somewhere with a couple bucks in my pocket and a sense of adventure.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Social

  1. I live in Colorado and definitely recommend a vacay out here! Fun stuff! And I would love to go to Greece. I’m fascinated by history too, so trips where you just feel immersed in it are amazing to me!

    I like your blog! Found you through Sunday Social. Hop over and check out my answers too!

Leave a Reply

