Sunday Social!

I’m so bummed I missed last week’s Sunday Social link-up, but I guess I can’t complain since I was at the greatest music festival ever!

Let’s get started, shall we?

Sunday Social

What is your dream job?

My dream job would be Vice President of Marketing for either a client side company with a focus on social good or for an animal or child focused non-profit such as the SPCA or St. Jude’s. I definitely want to reach a high level in my career, but I want my ascent to be cause-based rather than money-based. Although paying off my loans eventually would be nice.

If you had just won the lottery and didn’t need to work for money, what would you do with your time?

I would definitely be extremely involved with non-profits. It would be awesome to be the director of a shelter and donate my salary right back. I would also travel everywhere and do some volunteering/mission work overseas. I think I’d also like to try out a bunch of different careers: maybe get back into acting, try out cooking, open my own bakery.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

A ballerina. I mean, what 5 year old girl doesn’t want to be a ballerina? That progressed into dancer on Broadway, which then became actress until I decided at the last possible minute to go to school for marcom instead.

What piece of career advice would you give to someone just starting out in your field?

Intern. Even if it’s unpaid. It doesn’t even need to be a place with a true internship program. Ask a local charity or small business if you can come help them with their marketing/advertising/pr/events part time during the summer. You’ll gain valuable experience and a reference. I did an unpaid internship at a non-profit the summer after my sophomore year and that experience has led to multiple jobs and invaluable contacts in my field.

Biggest Pet Peeves either in life or in blogging or at work?

I dislike being undervalued because of my age. I understand that being at the bottom of the ladder means a lot of menial tasks sometimes, but I also have a lot to contribute. I’ve had amazing jobs where this was never an issue, but I’ve also encountered people that want to hand me all of their brainless busy work instead of getting me involved with big projects.

Biggest fears?

Failure. Voldemort. I’m not particularly fond of spiders/bugs/snakes or ferrets because they look like furry snakes.

6 thoughts on “Sunday Social!

  1. Hey I figured since you dropped in on my blog I would return the nice gesture! I love that you would get into lots of volunteering if you won the lottery! I feel like I would do the same thing too because I have gotten into some great organizations and see how much they help! 🙂

    • I love volunteering, especially when I find an organization that’s exactly in line with my values and is doing great work in the world 🙂

  2. I am not fond of spiders snakes and bug either…they freak me out lol

    Very cute blog!
    bookmarked your blog lol
    Look forward to continue reading your blog 🙂

    Xo
    Christina
    Livinglaughinglovingx3.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

