To move or not to move

Every 5 minutes I change my mind about what to do when it comes to my living situation. Do I hold out for a couple months and move out in the summer? Do I try to find a little house or apartment I can afford now? Do I cross my fingers that one of my friends will decide to move out and I’ll have an insta-roomie? Or do I suck it up and save up for the next year or two for a down payment?

There are so many factors, I feel like my brain is going to explode. Part of me is scared, what if I get in over my head and can’t afford rent or something breaks and I don’t know how to fix it? The other part craves that freedom and independence and certified grown-up responsibility.

Ok and another part is just obsessed with decorating my own place. I’ve collected lots of adorable mismatched vintage items and always have my eye out for perfect additions. I just found the cutest bedding set that I’m thinking about going ahead and purchasing – it’s purple and orange!

Screen shot 2014-02-27 at 8.03.51 PM

 

I’ve been trolling Craigslist for what feels like 7 years looking at places and emailing landlords. I’ve even gone so far as to email actual realtors asking about places for sale. I feel like such a loser for still living at home. It feels lazy. It doesn’t matter that I work and go to school full-time and volunteer and freelance. I live in my mom’s house and that makes me feel like a kid who’s just pretending to be grown-up.

But I also don’t want to look back and regret that I didn’t just stick it out and save money. I have friends who already own houses and they’re not even 30. If I rent, will I ever be able to own? Am I overthinking this entire thing?

 

One thought on “To move or not to move

  1. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any
    widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping
    maybe you would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your
    new updates.

Leave a Reply

